Impaq Curriculum

Unlike many other homeschool curriculum providers, Impaq realises that there’s more to teaching than just lesson material. That’s why, in addition to quality CAPS-aligned lesson material for Grades R – 12, they offer learners and parents plenty of supplementary teaching and learning resources like facilitator’s guides, planned schedules, assessment elements and services, and more!

Impaq also offers Bible Education (Grades R – 9), isiZulu (Grades 1 – 4), LEGO® Robotics and Coding (Grades 1 – 5), and Resolute Robotics (Grades 7 – 12) as additional subjects typically not offered at other schools.

Foundation Phase (Grades R – 3)

In this phase, the curriculum focuses on four main principles critical for a young child’s development:

  • critical thinking,
  • problem-solving,
  • step-by-step guidance, and
  • letting learners develop and learn at their own pace.

Learners study Mathematics, Life Skills, and a Home Language (Afrikaans or English) throughout the entire phase and will take on a First Additional Language in Grade 1. Parents can also use the Foundation Phase Maths Kit and Cami EduSuite to help their children with Mathematics, Reading, and Literacy.

Read more: Foundation Phase: The Fundamental Building Blocks for Learner Performance

Intermediate Phase (Grades 4 – 6)

During this phase, learners study six compulsory subjects:

  • Mathematics,
  • a Home Language,
  • a First Additional Language,
  • Life Skills,
  • Social Sciences, and
  • Natural Sciences and Technology.

Learners develop a sense of independent learning as they master a broad range of skills and abilities.

Senior Phase (Grades 7 – 9)

In the Senior Phase, learners continue with the compulsory subjects from the Intermediate Phase. Natural Sciences and Technology are now two separate subjects, and learners also begin studying Economic and Management Sciences and Creative Arts. Life Skills is now studied at a higher level and are known as Life Orientation.

By the Senior Phase, learners have developed self-management skills and should have more say in the structure of their academic schedule. Learners can now start using Optimi Publishing’s Excom Books in selected subjects designed to assist them on their learning journey.

FET Phase (Grades 10 – 12)

In the final schooling phase, learners select three subjects often colloquially known as ‘matric subjects’ in addition to the four compulsory subjects (Home Language, First Additional Language, Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy, and Life Orientation) for a total of seven subjects.

Impaq offers a wide variety of over fifteen elective subjects, from Physical Sciences to Tourism. Learners can also use Optimi Publishing’s Quanta series, which is designed to assist learners studying Physical Sciences.

Read more: Career choices: How to help your child make their subject selections in Grade 9

Comments are closed.